Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

I didn’t write this prayer. This is from the journal of a man I respect, Kevin at Strategic World Impact. But I find it to ring so beautifully in tune with my own heart that I share it here.

God save me from the love of myself.

God save me from the love of praise.

God save me from serving You so that I can be rewarded by men.

God save me from preaching what others should do while not doing it myself.

God save me from the hypocrisy and gossip that I often call prayer and intercession.

God save me from ministering in Your name but not calling on Your name every day.

God save me from doing work for You but not worshiping towards You.

God save me from talking about love for You but not taking time with You.

God save me from titles and entitlements.

God save me from pleasures that build the flesh but deny Your spirit.

God save me from serving You to be well thought of by others.

God save me from griping and complaining about simple things and then talking about sacrifice.

God save me from using the Bible to make my point so I can thereby prove that others are wrong.

God save me from being right all the time.

God save me from a sharp tongue and a backbiting spirit and passing it off as quick-wittedness.

God save me from pride in what I do instead of glorying in my weakness.

God save me from giving to others while always keeping the best for myself.

God save me from serving You and taking the glory and the rewards.

God save me from using You to further my ministry and my agenda.

God save me from praying only for myself, my work, my stuff, my life, my ministry.

God save me from preaching from my heart and not from Yours.

God save me from seeking the lost as a notch on my belt or a bragging point at church.

God save me from trying to be the most spiritual so that others around me can be put down.

God save me from the pecking order and using leadership as a place of advantage rather than service.

God save me from favoring people based upon what they can give or what they can bring to my life.

God save me from loving those who love me while casually passing by those who have offended me.

Kevin says, “One thing I’ve learned is that I don’t know everything. But if I’m willing to walk in humility and brokenness the bible tells us in Psalm 51 that this is a heart that God will not despise.”